These are a few of my favorite toys…

Back when money was less of an object (it was never no object for me), I would spend some of it on buying back my childhood, one toy at a time. A couple decades ago, I was able to buy back my very, mostest, favoritest toys I or any of my friends or siblings ever had: the Shogun Warriors!

Such awesomeness is so awesome!

Such awesomeness is so awesome!

I’m specifically talking about those awesome, colorful, missile-firing, ax-throwing, star-shooting, fist-hurling, two foot tall robots that every smart kid in the 1970s just had to have. When I was a kid, I received Dragun as a Christmas gift and my younger brother got Mazinga. We were so jazzed about them!

Dragun in his awesome glory!

Dragun in his awesome glory!

Mazinga rockin' the missiles!

Mazinga rockin’ the missiles!

Cool, sleek, enigmatic Raydeen with fly-away fist!

Cool, sleek, enigmatic Raydeen with fly-away fist!

My best friend, Todd, got Raydeen. And, through some underhandedness with the price tag, I was able to purchase Gaiking. So, I had two awesome Shogun Robots. Ha ha! Todd and Steve!

Gaiking: Awesomeness worth breaking the law for. Uh. Kids, don't break the law.

Gaiking: Awesomeness worth breaking the law for. Uh. Kids, Nostalgia Zone does not endorse breaking the law. Be cool, stay in school.

Todd had a Baron Karza though and I never had one, so I guess that evens us out.

Baron Karza was the coolest of the Micronauts, but he wasn't a Shogun Warrior. I still wish I had one though.

Baron Karza was the coolest of the Micronauts, but he wasn’t a Shogun Warrior. I still wish I had one though.

I should explain the price tag scam with Gaiking. You see, kids, way back in the days before bar codes enabled the government to track our every move, the stores had simple price tags. If you were very careful, you could peel a price tag off a lesser priced item and use that to replace the one on a higher priced item, so you could (maybe) get that spendy thing at a cheaper price. Just be careful not to put too cheap of a price on your desired object. A TV set for $1.99 might not go unnoticed.

That’s what I did to get Gaiking. Dad wouldn’t help augment my allowance I had saved for it, so I went to the dark side before some other kid got my toy.

One thing I didn’t keep in mind: Don’t let Dad see you with the toy, dumbass! He saw I had it and pointed out that he thought I didn’t have enough money to get it. What gives?

I wasn’t quick enough to come up with, “It went on sale, Dad! They lowered the price to exactly what I had saved up! Isn’t that something?”

He would have seen through that just as he saw through whatever lie I came up with and I confessed. (It was his use of the soft cushions during the interrogation that broke me.) Dad’s solution was not to send me back to the store or to confiscate Gaiking. He decided I wouldn’t get any allowance until it had made up the difference in the price.

Hmm. Let’s think about that… I got to keep the toy and he got to not give me an allowance for a few weeks. Win-win!

Of course, my brother and I sold our warriors in a garage sale. Foolishly going for the upfront short money, no doubt. I haven’t seen Todd for years, but he might just still have Raydeen. He was the kind of kid who was good with money and smart about hanging onto stuff and waiting for the big money on the back end. He’s probably a millionaire by now.

I have since reacquired Dragun and Gaiking. I have also gotten Mazinga and Raydeen. I spent almost $100 at the old comic shop I frequented for Dragun, Mazinga, and Raydeen together. But, when I bought Gaiking from eBay, I had to shell out more than 120 bucks!

Such awesome awesomeness is worth every penny.

Oh! And, Dad, can I start getting my allowance again?

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

