Nostalgia

What is it about so many of us that we look so fondly on days gone by? We know, or we should know, the old days weren’t as idyllic as we remember. There wasn’t really ever any time of innocence, except for childhood. And very early childhood, at that. But, for some, even childhood wasn’t so innocent.

That may be the root of nostalgia: Remembering our own idealized youth. We were innocent and happy then or, at least, that’s how we remember it. We had little to worry about as long as we got our homework done and were home by the time the street lights went on.

Or maybe it’s because we know we made it through the past. We know how kindergarten turned out. We made it through high school, college, our wedding day, the birth of the first child, a job or two or three. At the time these events may have seemed overwhelming, but we got past them and they don’t appear so daunting from this side.

rottenecard_5732328_tzxqb4vj6b

I’ve seen a graphic on Facebook stating how much more frequently one thinks of running away as an adult than as a child. I’m not sure how common that is, but, at least for me, as an adult, I really do think about running away far more often as I did as a child. But, I think about running away back to my childhood. Someone else had the responsibilities and I had the cool toys and comic books.

I may not be able to get back to my childhood, but I can get back some of those items I had at the time; most of which, except for my comic books, I foolishly let go. I can buy back my childhood one toy and one comic book at a time. I can look at them, read or play with them and remember a simpler, more innocent time. Which, of course, was neither simple nor innocent; it just seems that way now.

This bit of tribute to nostalgia is the first of what might be many blogs I’ll be writing for Nostalgia Zone. As I continue, I’ll write about old comic books and toys, my favorite comic book artists and maybe some of my not so favorite ones. I’ll have something to say about movies and TV and pop culture (what I know of it anyway). And whatever else might strike my fancy.

It is my sincere hope that you will enjoy what I have to say. You might disagree with me from time to time, but I hope you enjoy none the less.

Jim ‘Dr Dim’ Fitzsimons

Leave a Reply

